Christos Tsiolkas

Christos Tsiolkas' interview will be released on Thursday 13 July 2017.
Christos Tsiolkas_The Garret

Christos Tsiolkas is the author of five novels, most of which have been adapted for the screen. Christos's novels are:

  • Loaded (1995), which became the movie Head On in 1998
  • The Jesus Man (1999)
  • Dead Europe (2005), which won the 2006 Age Fiction Prize and the 2006 Melbourne Best Writing Award, and was adapted into a film in 2012
  • The Slap (2008), which won the 2009 Commonwealth Writers' Prize, was shortlisted for the 2009 Miles Franklin Literary Award, was longlisted for the 2010 Man Booker Prize, and won the 2009 Australian Literary Society Gold Medal and the 2009 Australian Booksellers Association and Australian Book Industry Awards Books of the Year; and  was also turned into both an Australian and U.S. television miniseries
  • Barracuda (2013), which was adapted for television in 2016.

He is also a playwright, essayist, screen writer and film critic. His other published works include his first short story collection Merciless Gods (2014), his reflective essay Tolerance, Prejudice and Fear (1997) for PEN Sydney, and his examination of  Fred Schepisi's 1976 film The Devil's Playground (2002). Christos is also a regular contributor to The Monthly.

Show notes

Show notes for Christos' interview will be released on Thursday 13 July 2017.


The transcript for Christos' interview will be released on Thursday 13 July 2017.